Lightbox.

I promised to http://littlemiao.wordpress.com/ to show the photos of the lightbox I once made.

I needed a white background and some nice white light to take photos of small objects, so I simply took a huge cardboard box, put it on one side and cut out its left, right and top sides.
a photo of an oriental shorthair black cat next to some photo equipment

I attached a layer of thick white drawing paper (the right term for which I don’t know) to the back and the bottom of the box and fixed it with cello-tape and blu-tack.
a process of making a lightbox

I attached tracing paper to the left, right and top sides of the box.
an oriental shorthair black cat is sitting next to a photo lightbox

I moved the strongest white light table lamps I had to the sides of the box.
photos of the lightbox

It all was too interesting for Usyaka to stay away, so she immediately took up her position.
a photo session with a black oriental shorthair cat sitting in a handmade lightbox

Needless to say I never took those photos I planned to, but took some other photos instead.
a photo session with a black oriental shorthair cat sitting in a handmade lightbox

a photo session with a black oriental shorthair cat sitting in a handmade lightbox

It was then, when I took this famous photo.
a photo session with a black oriental shorthair cat sitting in a handmade lightbox

This entry was posted in Archive 2008-2010 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lightbox.

  1. Dianda says:

    This is great! Very handy! Thank you!
    And I love it how Usyaka’s sitting there, really relaxed and curious.

  2. IsobelandCat says:

    That’s really impressive! next time I have a big box I may have to copy you. Fab!
    Oh no, I don’t have any bright lights…..

  3. fivecats says:

    The big yawn is the best.

  4. Gisele says:

    These are great! Thanks for showing the whole process.

  5. littlemiao says:

    Wow, thank you for sharing this. Such gorgeous photos. she floats in the white background. It’s perfect. I will try to construct something like this for my Miaos. It doesn’t look too difficult to construct, given the right materials. :D I might have to get a couple lamps. I just have a little one.

    like nadbugs, I can’t choose a favorite. They’re all so amazing. what stunning green eyes!

  6. sledpress says:

    Her eyes are like perfect beryls.

  7. shelleydlm says:

    You have talent! thank you for visiting my page. Im glad I was able to come to yours and see this post. Ive read about how these are made. but never really realized how simple it was. Thank you for sharing! I hope to find more posts like this!

  8. ruthrawls says:

    Love! This!

  9. TBM says:

    She’s fabulous. I loved the big yawn!

  10. jimmie chew says:

    that was great, what a supermodel she is!

  11. Beautiful, beautiful, and beautiful.

  12. I love your imaginative approach to co-ercing the cat into position. Of course the cat thinks it was an invitation so voila – success was yours. Beautiful photos.

  13. nikkisimages says:

    Beautiful cat. Very patient too I see. Good shots.

  14. karesaurus says:

    Thank you for posting this. I am going to take pictures of cats for the humane society and was trying to think of how I could get a studio look without actually taking them to the studio here. This is perfect, easy, and cheap.

  15. Anna says:

    great shots! I made one out of foam core and it will fold down flat too.. Hardly drag it out to use it, but I will one day if I ever get to crafting.

Leave a Reply

