When Usyaka arrived.

This horrible photo is one of the most precious photos to me.
Here Usyaka sees my camera for the first time and for the first time I see Usyaka through the viewfinder.

This photo was taken 4 years ago.

Four years ago, when the morning finally arrived I got out of bed, packed Usyaka’s papers, which I was sleeping with, and took a several hours trip to bring Usyaka home.
Usyaka the baby stretching her paws towards a camera

I used to carry her around the flat in a little bag, like a kangaroo, and she refused to spend any second of her life without me. To be honest, I didn’t want her to.
cute little kitten upside down

These are her first photos and they were taken with an old (then, still new) iPhone, hence the quality. They are so dear to me and I thought you might like them too.
cute little oriental kitten sleeping stretched in a thin line

Four years ago I brought Usyaka home.

This entry was posted in Archive 2008-2010 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to When Usyaka arrived.

  1. animalartist says:

    Happy adoption day! They are truly precious!

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww………………..

  3. Aww! Very precious. She is nearly the same age as our Lokii! His fourth birthday is tomorrow – but we couldn’t pick him up until almost August. They’d make a cute couple – of course a platonic couple! She’s so adorable with her big head and ears.

    • Alexandra says:

      Hehe, Lokii and I have birthdays on the same day :D
      Usyaka was 5 months old when I got her.
      Do you have photos of Lokii when he was a kitten?

      • Today?!? Happy birthday!!!!! She is so big for five months old. Yes, I have some from when we met the breeder and he fit in the palm of my hand, so tiny!
        Hope you have special plans for your special self :)

        • Alexandra says:

          Thank you!!!
          Congrats on Lokii’s birthday!
          Did he have huge ears when he was so tiny?

          You said Usyaka looked big for 5 months old, but then many vets were saying, she actually looked too small. But, honestly, thinking about it now, I’m not sure those vets knew anything about cats at all :)

  4. Usyaka looks like she was totally at home from the very beginning…splendid!

  5. lahgitana says:

    that contentment and trust always shows in her pics. awwwwwww!

  6. Happy Gotcha Day!!! I love those ears…..that first picture says it all. :)

  7. sledpress says:

    Ohhh, darling little girl, all ears.

  8. jimmie chew says:

    she loved you from the start! so cute.

  9. Pam Cameron says:

    What a beautiful cat!!

  10. Bassas Blog says:

    Very lovely photos and memories.

  11. Dianda says:

    So precious!
    She looks so small and fragile on those photo’s!

    • Alexandra says:

      I can’t believe now how small and fragile (the word is totally right!) she was! I can’t believe I was so brave to invite such a BABY in my life. I didn’t know what I was doing, but I’m so happy I did it :)

  12. I love them. Love them. Love them.

  13. Kimberly Helgeson says:

    Thank you for sharing! Beautiful baby!

  14. C. Miley says:

    Alexandra, these photos are super great and also so very touching. Just over 4 short years ago? Wow! She is bigger now. Would it be rude of me to ask her, oops, I mean you, what she weighs now?? The oriental shorthair, I’ve observed at shows here, is quiet small compared to most other breeds . . Usyaka appears long and lean, but not that small in her photos..

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi, Carol! Well, I don’t know exactly, but I think she weighs something like 4 kilos, it’s about 8.8 lbs. They are supposed to be lean, but they are usually heavier than they look, because they are very muscly. I guess, they should be even leaner for exhibitions.

      She’s about the same size as an average cat.

      When my friend saw her for the first time, she said Usyaka appeared bigger in photos and that in reality she’s smaller.

  15. fivecats says:

    Happy Gotcha Day to you and Usyaka! May there be many, many more to come.

  16. Tina says:

    I stumbled on your blog while looking for photos of cats to paint.

    I am smitten! What a beautiful creature. What is she? Regular cats are cute but she is elegant, regal and dignified looking…until she gets goofy for the camera. So much like my standard poodle. We always say he is like a super model , all legs, no brains. ( no offence meant to models, I realize it is an incorrect stereotype)

    I hope you won’t take this the wrong way because its not meant as an insult, but she is so hideous she is gorgeous. I don’t know if that makes sense to you but I cannot take my eyes off her. My husband and I are laying in bed laughing at and loving her pictures. She reminds me of nosferatu. If my gangly standard poodle were a cat he would look like Usyaka. She is absolutely the most handsome cat I have ever seen!

    I am so glad you share her photos with the world!

Leave a Reply

