Bubbles in the air.

Hi everybody! How have you been?
Our life hasn’t been boring. We’ve been helping street cats as their lives are never boring too.

Usyaka also had a new experience in her life by getting a piece of herb inside her eye. She then met one semi-talented vet who turned out to be talented in charging for a visit but not so talented in working at a visit, so Usyaka had to meet another vet and undergo some quite unforgettable veterinary procedures which eventually freed her from that strange eye souvenir.
Isn’t it fun?

Well, it wasn’t dull. Neither were soap bubbles :)

And they were pretty,

and fun to play with

They flew around,

and did funny things.

BTW, I came to a conclusion that Usyaka is not a cat, or those street cats are not cats. The second one is unlikely, because there are just too many of them and they have many things in common. Usyaka barely has anything in common with them. She is totally different. She moves differently, talks differently, looks at a person differently. When I’m with Usyaka it feels like I’m with another human. When I’m with those cats everything seems new to me. They are amazing, unbelievable creatures!

I tried not to take my camera with me, because my bag is usually already full and heavy, but I couldn’t resist it for too long. So now you can also have a look at those cats. Here’s an album where I keep their photos.

I have no idea what to call those cats. In the articles it’s said that feral cats are those that were born on the streets, and they are distant and don’t trust humans. Stray cats are those that once lived with a human and thus can get close to a human again. These local cats have never lived with a human, and yet it takes five feeding times for them to leave all the food and run after you yelling: “please, don’t go just yet”. They want to play, they want to talk, they want cuddles. What IS the name for such cats? I don’t know.

This entry was posted in Feral, Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Bubbles in the air.

  1. lahgitana says:

    perhaps “homeless”? they sound ready to be adopted! I’ll go look at their album.

    You’ve made me think with your observations about our nose-sharpener versus the outside cats. The outside cats have to be on guard all the time, but our indoor friends can just relax. Big difference, huh?

    • lahgitana says:

      I forgot to say–so happy Usyaka is doing better. And I’m sorry you encountered health care that only benefited the “doctor.” Wrong wrong wrong!

      So happy to see you here again, Alexandra. >:-D

      • Alexandra says:

        Bravo! “Homeless” is what I was thinking. I actually tagged many photos in that album with this word. They are, indeed, ready to be adopted. Shame, it’s not in the culture here. It does happen, but very rarely.

        You are right about the difference but I also noticed they treat stress very differently. Usyaka is more human about stress. She worries, then she processes it, she remembers it later on. Those guys do the following: stress! Run! Hide! Emotions on! Five minutes later – they are relaxing in the sunlight as if nothing had ever happened. How do they do it ? They definitely never take a single minute of pleasure for granted.

        The first doctor was just nonsense. She quickly looked into Usyaka’s eye, told us she saw nothing wrong in there, and let us go telling us to use antibiotic drops for her eye, while Usyaka couldn’t literally open her eye! Thanks god, there’s a new vet in town and he is so much better. He used all possible scary tools to look inside her eye, saw that piece of herb, sedated her and took it out. The next four days he checked her every day and gave her medicines. And he charged us almost the same price that the first vet did. Can you imagine?!

        Well, it’s good to know the difference now. All “homeless” cats now use only that second vet.

        I’m so happy to see you too, Laurel. :)

        • lahgitana says:

          Oh interesting how the cats let go of stress better than we do and we’re all safe and well-fed indoors!

          I guess I cannot imagine coming up against the vet care you experienced, Alexandra. How horrible. I would have wanted to kick the first one, shout at her, then grab the cat and leave. I’m getting to be that way, I think!

          You have such a big heart, Alexandra. How hard it must be to NOT bring 47 cats home with you! >:-D

          • Alexandra says:

            Haha :) It wasn’t because of *my* self-control that I didn’t bring those cats home, it’s was because of my husband’s. :))

            The only reason I still smile to the first vet and say “hi” when I see her is because I believe she is just not that talented. She didn’t want anything bad for Usyaka, she just wasn’t able to do her work better. I remember how she kissed a sick homeless kitten and pressed her face against his back. He was really miserable then (he’s fine now) and she had real pity for him. She just can’t work well. It happens.

            Yes, I learn so much about letting go of stress, about being happy, when I watch these cats. There’s a kitten called Beliy, you probably saw him in the photos. He had some very difficult times when I first found him. It was very windy and he was so thin he couldn’t walk because the wind was pushing him. He had a bad wound on his paw. And just when I was ready to start crying about him he jumped up and started racing leaves that were flying by. Isn’t it a priceless gift – to have fun and to enjoy life no matter what? A one eyed cat still plays, watching a toy with one eye, an injured cat still purrs and wants to talk. When a cat is very sick she just stays on one place and doesn’t move – she is sick and she accepts it. I don’t know how they do it. Maybe the trick is that they don’t do something that we, humans, do. They don’t analyze it, they just accept it.

  2. Dianda says:

    Oh god, those pictures are just adorable!
    Thank god Usyaka is better and has nothing in her eyes again.

  3. redlady821 says:

    Glad Usyaka is all better. I love the pictures of your homeless cats. It breaks my heart to know that they are lonely, but at least they have each other.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you! :) Oh they can teach one so much about being happy with seemingly simple things. Please, don’t be too sad for them :) Their life is definitely not easy, but it’s full of good moments and fun.

  4. Wazeau says:

    Poor Usyaka eye :( I’m glad she’s doing better. Wonderful photos as always!

  5. Thank goodness those eyes are safe now. The cats may be homeless but they are not friendless. How much they must look forward to your visits ;-)

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you :) Oh, they always wait for me :) There’s a word to attract cat’s attention in local language, but these cats react to the same word in Russian. :))

  6. Marilia says:

    Own! Puuuuurrrrr to Usyaka!

  7. C. Miley says:

    Alexandra, here in Texas, we have a feral cat program that that has recently been approved by the local governments to help reduce the stray population. Volunteers who feed strays in a cat coloney and are able to do this help immensely. It’s called “Trap, Nueter, Release”. They will put out a trap cage which they bait with food. Most of these cats are too wild to be picked up and caged. They are then taken to a vet who will neuter or spay them, give them a rabies shot and exam and lightly clip the top of their left ear to signify they have been neutered and cannot breed. They are then returned to the colony to live out their lives if they are not adoptable. We have some vets here who will do this for a nominal fee for the feral cat organizations and individuals. Cat’s are so smart however, after watching some of their buddies go into the cage they may not so easily. .The cat colonies keep the rat and mice populations down which the local officials can’t deny, however it’s hard if not impossible to get all of them to the vet . You are taking some super shots of those guys . They get fed well for their modeling fees. So glad to see “Beautiful Usyaka’s” bubble shots!

    • Alexandra says:

      Lucky you :)

      Yeah, I know about TNR programs and always wonder what it’s like to live in a country where these programs are possible; where there’s no need to choose between neutering a cat and saving another cat’s life, because of the limited amount of money for vet care; where there’s a place to keep a cat after an operation; where there’s no need to worry about the way the cat would look to local people straight after the operation and what they could do to the cat if they don’t like the way it looks, or what they could do to you, because not all of them understand the idea of neutering an animal. I’m not sure there’s another neutered cat in the whole country apart from Usyaka. And the fact that Usyaka is neutered surprises some of them, because “cats just loooove doing that thing, ya know”. I haven’t met a single neutered cat here, neither indoors, nor outdoors.

      But one problem I’m sure I wouldn’t have if I could do TNR. I would have no problem in catching those cats, because they start trusting people almost immediately and never stop. I take a cat to the vet, she yells she can’t believe I’m doing it to her, she undergoes lots of “unforgettable procedures” to cure her damaged tail, I let her out of the bag after the vet, and she keeps chasing after me, saying she was just joking and didn’t mean it and isn’t angry at all and please let’s just talk/play/cuddle a bit more.

      Right now, though, it doesn’t look like the state will ever help with TNR or any other care for these cats, because it doesn’t even care that flocks of stray hungry sick dogs are roaming the city. The problem of dogs would be dealt with first of all if local authorities were ready to deal with problems of “homeless” animals at all. People who take care of animals sound like nonsense to many here, I guess, they sound like nonsense to the government as well.

  8. C. Miley says:

    The states here don’t help with TNR. They give no financial support. They have only said that it’s legal for individuals or feral cat organizations to neuter and release them rather than impounding them to be destroyed which is what a lot of people still do. A few, but by no means all, vets will help with nominal fees for neutering ferals. The ferals here in my area will come up to you to eat but will not let you handle them if they have grown up without human contact. Maybe a pat on the head if you’re lucky. It takes a very long time to gain their trust and tame one. I think that’s because there are people who will yell and throw things at them to scare them away. And talking about packs of stray dogs, that’s just started up in my neighborhood a few months ago and I see them only after dark trying to eat the cat food and going after the cats. The pound can only go after them in the daytime. One thing we have here now that we didn’t have for a long time are “Cruelty to Animal” laws and they are strongly enforced, even if you unreasonably fail to provide shelter,food,water and care to an animal in your custody or unreasonably abandon that animal you have broken the law..In my 71 years here (man, that’s old) that was a long time coming…

    • Alexandra says:

      Yeah, sounds familiar. I just came back from my “homeless” friends and I’m full of fresh impressions about the state of brainlessness of some local kids. My “idiometer” says it’s unlikely I’ve met such idiots before. They ARE cruel to animals and right now it doesn’t look like the law or the state or at least their parents will be of any help. Lots of adults here are not better, BTW, so I have idea why these animals still trust people.

  9. David says:

    Glad the second vet was able to get that little piece of herb out of her eye.

    It’s very, very nice of you to take care of those cats, and give a few names. They do look like a handsome group.

    I see you employ an “idiometer”. I “use” one also. :)

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you, David! :)
      Yes, an “idiometer” is a nice tool. It can’t really help get rid of idiots, but it’s irreplaceable when you just want to compare if you met such idiots before or not.

  10. jmuhj says:

    What do you call those cats? Betrayed. Abandoned. But deserving of the same kind of loving, permanent home Uskaya has. Thank you for sharing her beauty, and that of these cats you encounter, with us, and for advocating for cats. We do that on social media, every day, as well. And all of our cats are rescued from “streets” or from situations where they needed to be in a home like ours.

Leave a Reply

