Merry Christmas!

Although we don’t have our tree yet, as Russians celebrate winter holidays a bit differently and later, we still can share our old holiday photos with you.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat playing with christmas decoration

As you can imagine, life is hard for decoration
a picture of a black oriental shorthair cat trying to sniff of a christmas toy

a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat stealing new year decoration

and fun for Usyaka.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat taking down new year decoration       

Our best wishes to you!
a picture of a black oriental shorthair cat playing with new year toys

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. Bassas Blog says:

    We celebrate Christmas on 7 January in the Republic of Georgia but as the tall person is English we also celebrate on 25 December.

    Your last picture is exquisite.

  2. Is that Ded Moroz about to become Dead Moroz? I showed the hubby the pics of her stretching to the tinsel – “long cat is long!” he says! Goofy man. Oh I had someone find my blog by searching for something in Cyrillic. I can only guess it was about the holiday discussion we had!

    • Alexandra says:

      Haha :)) That’s funny! No, it’s not Ded Moroz there, if anything it might be his granddaughter, but anyway it’s a lady-doll.
      Long cat is indeed very long :))
      I have no idea how these searching works, we weren’t talking Cyrillics and I never used it on my blog, but I also have search results in Cyrillics and I even have Russian spam in my spam folder. I’ve no idea how they found me 🙂

      • Oh I get crazy spam, too! I think it had to be that post as I never heard of Ded Moroz before, so I bet there isn’t much out there on the Internet talking about him! I don’t have any Russian roots, but my brother in law does, I hope my sister tells him about some of his heritage you shared with us!

        • Alexandra says:

          Yeah, you are probably right, it must be that post or it can be because I commented on your blog. I can find your blog when I google my blog because I commented there. It’s a complicated system.
          Ded Moroz probably sounds funny for you. Here he’s called Ded Mraz which to a Russian ear sounds much like “old bastard” or something like this.
          Do you think your brother in law didn’t know the story?

          • Hahah! Too funny. No, they didn’t even tell him he was Russian until the 90’s, I think. As an American born during the cold war, being Russian wasn’t something you were proud of, I guess! I think they even changed the family name to make it more American. Seems a silly thing now, but I grew up with it too and I guess I can sort of understand. My own family name was changed to make it less Irish, when the Irish were considered equal with black slaves and dogs.

            • Alexandra says:

              I didn’t know about these things. I can understand it when people change names.
              I’ll read more about the things you told me about, especially about the Irish, it’s the first time I’ve heard about this.

  3. Alexandra says:

    Enjoy your evening, Spiders!

  4. Dianda says:

    Merry Christmas! And great photo’s!
    When will you celebrate Christmas?

    • Alexandra says:

      WordPress wanted me to approve your comment this time and the email about this got into spam – can you imagine the obstacles, LOL :))
      Well, Orthodox Church celebrates Christmas on the 7th January, but it’s not that popular to celebrate Christmas in Russia, at least it was not when I was growing up and so I don’t have this tradition. The Russians celebrate the New Year more and do it just in the same way the rest of the world celebrates Christmas.

      • Dianda says:

        Really? 😦 That’s weird! I commented from my mobile, so maybe that’s the reason. But I was just at home, so it should be the same IP-address. Or something.
        7th of January? Wow!
        Aah, funny! My parents-in-law celebrate the New Year the same as the others celebrate Christmas – They aren’t Russian tho, but Chinese.

  5. nadbugs says:

    The profile with snowflakes. Wow.

  6. IsobelandCat says:

    And a merry Christmas to you too.

  7. ameowlife says:

    Merry Christmas to you all and a Happy new year, hope you’ll enjoy the holidays as much as Usyaka seems to enjoy the decoration 😉 Our cats are exactly the same, always playing with the decoration…

  8. fivecats says:

    May your holidays be merry as well.

    We don’t decorate like in years past, especially with a larger cat crew these days. When I had two cats, every morning would be an ornament or two on the floor.

    • Alexandra says:

      We haven’t decorated yet (theoretically the tree is for the 31st December) but we probably will. Yeah, we’ll definitely get ornaments on the floor, which is not that scary, the scary part is if they end up in Usyaka’s stomach.
      Maybe I should decorate with tangerines…

Leave a Reply

