Old New Year!

Yes, there is such a thing as Old New Year and it’s celebrated tonight.
a christmas or new year photo with a black oriental shorthair cat sitting on a bed next to tinsel decorations

Winter holidays are almost over unlike Usyaka’s hunt.
a cat is hunting in tinsel

a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat just before a jump

a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat lying on the floor with a mouse in her mouth

Good-bye, winter holidays!
a beautiful photo with sparkles and tinsel picturing a black oriental shorthair cat in the middle

This entry was posted in Art, Humor, Toys and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Old New Year!

  1. Do I say happy new year, or happy old new year? In either case, I had a reminder set up to tell me it was today so I didn’t miss it! It sure doesn’t look like winter there, I am so jealous of your sunshine. Does it ever rain there?

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you so much! It’s so cool you even had your reminder set up πŸ™‚
      I think one says Happy New Year to that. It is the beginning of a new year, it’s just starts later with that calendar.
      According to Wikipedia we have 270 sunny days a year here, but it feels like more, really. And yes, it sure does rain and those are not the rains when the drops just fall down, it’s more like the whole sea swims into the town and starts flying around the streets, smashing everything, creating rivers and waterfalls. By the morning of the next day there’s usually no reminder at all it happened.
      We had a hurricane recently. Our block was shaking like a train and it lulled me so I slept through the most of it. It was only the next day when a local woman told me she’d never seen anything like that here in her 50 years time and she sat at home crying because she was so scared. Trees, bus stops, bill boards have fallen. So yes, we do have not sunny weather here but it’s never boring :))

      • I absoloutely LOVE your description of a deluge there! Florida was like that, with thunder and lightning. Here…it rains a little, constantly. That gets boring. I was never afraid of a good storm either, they are exciting! Unless you sleep through them πŸ™‚

        • Alexandra says:

          I once spent a summer in Scotland and it was like that – constantly raining with tiny threads of water.

          Florida sounds like fun πŸ™‚ I love when the nature goes that crazy and you sit and watch and feel like you knew nothing about winds or rains before.

          • Unfortunately Florida is full of Americans! Hahahaha! Yes, Scotland and Ireland are a lot alike. I still manage to get a tan, though. You’ve reminded me of another story, of my best thunderstorm ever! Will write that out soon. Oh! Stop by my place in a few minutes: my Usyaka-inspired drawing is done and I’m about to post it up!

  2. Bassas Blog says:

    We too celebrated Old New Year last night! Happy New Year!!!

  3. Marilia says:

    Here is hot and summer now!! WeΒ΄re in summer holidays in Brazil.
    Kisses friends!

Leave a Reply

