Mr. Bee Long legs with Bells thought he was safe.

a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat blurred in the background while the focus is on her yellow bee toy

But he wasn’t.
an oriental shorthair attacks her toy

an oriental shorthair bites her toy

Munching on the long leg.
an oriental shorthair munches on a leg of her toy

Some after hunt pedicure.
a funny photo of a black oriental shorthair cat doing her pedicure

And here comes some important information for the readers.

I haven’t been too happy with WordPress for a while, mainly because of unexpected and uncontrollable changes they tend to introduce. This used to be simply annoying until the latest change brought everything to a whole new level.

I’m talking about that “find your friends” feature. It basically allows any person who has your email address to find your blog. While some of you won’t find it disturbing, I know bloggers who will. I personally find disturbing the fact that the WordPress team are able to compromise bloggers’ safety that easily.

For me, it became a matter of principle to move Usyaka’s blog from WordPress. In the near future the address of Usyaka’s blog will change and, of course, I’ll let you know what the new address is.

This entry was posted in Humor, Other, Toys and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Mr. Bee Long legs with Bells thought he was safe.

  1. jimmie chew says:

    OMG she really loves that toy!

    • Alexandra says:

      An awesome toy, I’m telling you! She fights the body, hunts the legs and always tries to groom the feet πŸ™‚ Let alone the sound of the bells – it drives her crazy! What a wonderful gift, Jimmie! πŸ˜‰

  2. slurryer says:

    Sorry to have found you so late in the game, would love to see more… anyway, Awesome series here The beam of light coming through puts everything on edge! Awesome job!

  3. sledpress says:

    Poor Mr. Bee! I always feel especially sorry for the toys that smile helplessly while they are being mauled. But… she is having so much fun.

  4. lahgitana says:

    Oh Alexandra, I’m so sorry. You make a good point–I had no idea what that new thing was. I will look forward to following you to your new place. –Laurel

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you, Laurel πŸ™‚

      BTW, the workaround for the issue is changing an email address for a wordpress blog to a completely new one. I thought I’d let you know, just in case you need it or know somebody who does.

  5. Hiya. I am new to your blog. I am also new to blogging period…and Word Press is a bit troubling to me as well, but for many other reasons. I will be curious to learn where you move to and to learn if you find the “dashboard” and other admin tools easier than WP. I find many blog I want to follow, all anipals, are on Blogspot or some such thing. And, I am so hoping my Mom will get me one of those bee long leg thingy toys! OH, and Usyaka has pawsome claws!

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi there!
      Well, I’m going to be self-hosted. WP, Blogspot and others are like someone else’s houses where you are given some space on their conditions. They can do all changes they want to, to your space in their “house” because, well, it’s their house. While you expect all people to be sensible and make sensible changes, nothing actually guarantees it. Thus, for example, WP has just handed out axes to all kinds of maniacs and pointed to the place where you sit in your house, because, apparently, they’ll get some money from doing it.

      I know it may sound too dramatic, but for many bloggers that is what actually has happened.

      Being self-hosted means basically having your own house and organizing all things by yourself. As you can imagine it means a lot of work and requires skills and knowledge. I’m very determined to do it, because as I see it, it’s easier and safer this way.

  6. marianwhit says:

    Alexandra, I look forward to your photos every day…as a result of your work I have gotten a new kitty yesterday (Malachite), a Russian blue pussy willow colored and textured stray. He is a doll, and I adore him, but not the way I did my oriental…so I hope I get to stay.

    On the blog…am in business school in marketing, and I am learning that no one offers free anything online without a catch, and that is usually the opportunity to sell you something. The internet was developed as a means of free expression, which you are doing so wonderfully, but is increasingly being used to bend us to the will of big business, the goal of which, again, is to sell you something, and to know you so well that it will know exactly what to sell you that you will be unable to resist.

    So choose and read all license agreements carefully..especially as a talented photographer. I stopped uploading my photos to Google when read their license agreement.

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi, Marian!
      Thank you for your care and ideas. I think I know what you are talking about and I’ll be careful organizing my new blog. Right now, as I said, I’m moving Usyaka’s blog to a new address because WP’s politics proved to be completely unacceptable for me.

      How is your kitty doing? You said you got him only yesterday – how is it going? Do you have a place where you post about him?

  7. Awanthi Vardaraj says:

    Oh dear. I had no idea about that feature. I’m not best pleased. 😦 I won’t move my blog but I will definitely be sad that you’re moving.

    And what an awesome toy – how much fun to see her having so much fun!

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi, Awanthi Vardaraj!
      You can use a completely new email address for your wordpress blog, thus your blog won’t be found by email, because nobody will know this email.
      I’ll have to change my blog’s address, which for you, as a reader, will not mean big changes. In order to see Usyaka’s photos you’ll just need to enter the new address in your browser. I also hope I’ll be able to organize email subscriptions there.

  8. Bassas Blog says:

    Poor Mr. Bee Long legs with Bells – be careful Usyaka, he might tell his real bee friends! Tall person suggests using a different email address for your WordPress account.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thanks, Bassa!
      Using another email address is a workaround, but as I said, for me it’s a matter of principle to move my blog. I can’t use the service where bloggers’ safety is intentionally compromised. It is just wrong and I’m not going to accept it.

  9. Dianda says:

    I don’t mind people finding me through this email adress. But my other blog, I’m glad I used an email adress, that I never use, and people don’t know about. Other than that I don’t have it linked to facebook – thank god. So I think using a different emailadress sounds like a good idea?

    But you gotta do what you gotta do, right? I’ll just contiue following you when you move. πŸ™‚

  10. fivecats says:

    Mr. Bee has some very long legs. Too long to be out of Usyaka’s reach.

    Regarding WP: A lot of it is trying to remain competitive in an increasingly competitive and narrower landscape. The “Find Your Friends” option doesn’t bother me much because I don’t do Twitter, Facebook, Google+, or Pinterest. The annoying part of WP is the introduction of unneeded features like infinite scrolling and trying to “simplify” the commenting system. Infinite scrolling makes no sense once an individual blog has an extensive archive. (My archive goes back to January 2006.) The commenting system, it didn’t need any sort of simplification. I’ll look forward to your new self-hosted blog.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you! I’m very excited about going self-hosted!

      Oh, this infinite scrolling was so annoying!

      As I said in the very beginning and repeated in many comments under this post, for me it’s not about annoying changes any more. Their new change showed me what they are capable of and I’m not going to put up with it.

      Their new change concerns all people no matter what kind of service they use for their email. If you ever emailed a person who has a gmail account, this person has your address now and can find you using this new feature.

Leave a Reply

