Mysterious bubbles.

Jimmie Chew sent Usyaka these mysterious things,
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat looking at a soap bubble in front of her

these unidentified flying objects.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat looking at a few soap bubbles flying around her

They appear when the human breathes out and disappear when touched. She couldn’t wrap her mind around it.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat trying to take a closer look at soap bubbles flying around

She kept trying to poke them with her nose.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat trying to poke a soap bubble with her nose

And I kept asking her to use her paws only.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat scared to touch a soap bubble with her paw

She couldn’t believe it was safer.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat trying to touch a soap bubble with her paw

It was a hard photo session for both of us. I’ve never been so multitasking in my life!
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat stretching her paw to a huge soap bubble

Eventually she grew more self-assured.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat almost touching a soap bubble

And then it happened!
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat making a soap bubble burst

Usyaka, the awesome astronaut.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat with a soap bubble in front of her head so she looks like an astronaut

Usyaka’s in the glass ball.
a photo of a black oriental shorthair cat with a soap bubble in front of her so she looks as if she was put inside a glass ball

This entry was posted in Art, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Mysterious bubbles.

  1. These are incredible photos. There is so much tension in the ones where she has her paw held out! Love it!

    • Alexandra says:

      You know, somehow I KNEW that you’d like these photos. šŸ™‚ They are the style that you usually like. Although, I think these ones differ from all others. I don’t have many photos where she’s cautious or scared.

      • I don’t see cautious at all when I look at these photos. I hear the Wicked Witch of the West saying “I’ll GET you, my pretty!”

        • Alexandra says:

          Now when you said it, I can see it too šŸ™‚ That’s typical of her to experience several emotions at once. She had problems because of that in the past. When she was scared of a new person, she would run away but then she would suddenly realize she still was too curious to run away completely, so she would return and then see the person and realize she was still too scared to stay near so she would run away again. It used to wear her out.

  2. I cannot BELIEVE you caught a bubble exploding! Wow!

    • Alexandra says:

      I will try to catch more in future! That’s so much fun!

      • I think…in the seventh photo – the very tip-top of the bubble is starting to burst?

        • Alexandra says:

          I so wanted to answer already yesterday, but wordpress again was refusing to open my blog for me šŸ™‚
          You know, I don’t think it’s that. Have you ever seen bubbles going this way just before they burst? I still can’t figure out what that is, but I guess it can be the wall of the bubble getting too thin for our eyes to see it.

          • Huh, I never have trouble with WP. It must not like you šŸ˜¦ I think so, yes – the way it is not smooth and perfectly round at the top but spotty and rippled, it looks like the bits in the shot where it is totally popped!

            • Alexandra says:

              I guess WP and I have mutual feelings towards each other, LOL :))
              It happens because a signal which goes from me to WP (a simple version of what’s happening) gets stuck somewhere in London. WP team were informed about it long ago, with all the codes and clever words needed to solve the problem.
              Well, whatever, can’t wait to move my blog, yay! šŸ˜€

              You know, it’s the same bubble actually which Usyaka burst in the photo. I’ll have to make an experiment. Next time I’ll see a bubble going this way I’ll poke it in this transparent area and see what it will do. LOL :)) I guess it will just burst. :))

  3. timelesslady says:

    The best photos yet…sensational. Loved them!

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you, Timelesslady! They are quite unusual and I worked so hard on them from the very beginning! Lots of things went wrong so I’m happy that eventually these photos are still liked so much!

  4. jimmie chew says:

    you got some incredible shots!!!!

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you! We worked so hard on them!

      We still play with bubbles every day, you know. Now it’s easier, when she learned to burst them with her paw. We can sit like this for hours – I make the bubbles, she hits them and waits for me to make new ones. šŸ™‚

  5. animalartist says:

    I enjoy all your photos of Usyaka, but I love the bubbles!

  6. kitty in a bubble! that’s amazing… our kitties hate bubbles… they are all moggies though, and I have to admit, not terribly clever.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you!

      I’ve never heard the word “moggies” before, it’s cute! :))

      You know, when I got Usyaka I didn’t know I got this powerful triangle brain as well. She can be so clever, she scares me! šŸ™‚

      In fact, I’m still more excited about the laser light than she is. It took her 30 seconds to understand where the light comes from!

      Although, I wish she was as clever when trying to eat her toy mice pretending they are real meat!

  7. holy cat! what kind of camera is that!!! so pawsome!

  8. lahgitana says:

    awesome astronaut, indeed!

  9. sledpress says:

    I can’t get my guys interested in bubbles either — even the ones that say they’re catnip scented. I, however, am a big doofus who loves the rainbow colors of a fleet of bubbles so I still buy the stuff and pretend it’s for them.

    Those claws. Ye gods, I fear those claws.

    • Alexandra says:

      Sledpress, I have to confess, I don’t think there ever was a comment from you when I didn’t have to use a dictionary. You’ve got such a great vocabulary! šŸ™‚

      As for the bubbles, I need to confess yet again, there was a moment (well, maybe a few moments) when I left Usyaka and went out to the balcony to let those bubbles fly away and watch them. So, I do understand your love to bubbles.

      What do your cats do when they see them?

  10. super photos – your multitasking paid off.

  11. Fantastic job with your photos, even catching the bubble popping! Very fun šŸ™‚

  12. Amanda says:

    Wow, kudos to you for being able to take those pictures. I bet it wasn’t easy.

  13. Bassas Blog says:

    Great photos. The final one is especially good!

  14. minlit says:

    Gosh, I haven’t seen your blog in ages….but these are amazing! Love the space helmet!

  15. minlit says:

    This is very odd indeed. I can see you’ve been blogging, but though you show in my reader, I don’t get an e.mail about your posts like I do with eveyone else….must get to the bottom of this!

    • Alexandra says:

      You know, Minlit, I heard about other bloggers having a problem like this, their readers didn’t get posts by emails. It also happened at least once with my other blog.
      Theoretically, the WP team can be informed and then they can look into the matter. I’m not sure how long it would take to solve the problem. I’m going to go self-hosted, to move Usyaka’s whole blog to another address, in the nearest future, so that’s why I think it’s useless for me to try and contact the WP team.

      I’m very sorry you missed the posts though. They were published daily, so that’s a lot of missed photos.

      I’m happy you managed to enjoy these ones though šŸ™‚

  16. Brilliant images. love these šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

