Do you still remember her?

Whose eyes are those?

Do you remember those eyes?

Yes, Usyaka is back. Although it’s still very hot here.

Usyaka enjoys the sunlight.
         

It’s been a hot summer with only early mornings and late evenings suitable for any active work. I’ve been busy with something and that’s what I want to talk about.

Do you remember Usyaka’s store? That’s the online store I organized one day to sell different products with Usyaka’s image on them. Well, I basically forgot about it until recently when I realized I can use it for something really important.

Here’s the situation. There are lots of feral cats here in Montenegro, now there are also lots of feral kittens. There are no shelters or government programs for them. So, basically, all I can do for them is feed them and take some of them to vets.

I thought I’d try to sell some of Usyaka’s products so that I can use the money to help those feral cats.

Now, this part is important – I will provide food for them no matter what, so don’t feel obliged to buy any of the products. If I manage to raise any money with these products, I’ll be able to take more cats to vets.

So, here are the products. If you click the photos, it’ll take you to the store:
1. Lots of different buttons

(there are more in the Store)

2. Coasters

3. A Mug

4. Mousepads

5. A new keychain with a different photo of Usyaka on each side of it.

That’s it for now. See you soon!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Do you still remember her?

  1. Marilia says:

    Hi sweetie!!!!!!!!!!
    You´re so beautiful like always!

  2. The mug is especially wonderful!

  3. colltales says:

    These are fantastic, Alex. Welcome back both of you.

  4. lahgitana says:

    so happy to have you both back! it has been an odd summer for lots of folks…. (me too!).

    • Alexandra says:

      Oh, Laurel, hi! I often thought about you 🙂 Going to work with this blog for a while and then will visit yours.

      • lahgitana says:

        I’ve been absent from my blog as well. Got a little full up with too much “experience” all crammed into one week. I seem to have lost my writing voice for now. I wish someone would whap me upside the head and shake the words loose!

        Enjoy being back to blogging, Alexandra. Last night I laughed at myself right after I figured out this: I really enjoy the community of bloggers of which I am a part, but if I don’t post, the community isn’t there! Duh!

        • Alexandra says:

          I can hear your voice, which as strong and as beautiful as ever, in this comment of yours, Laurel. So do not worry, I am sure your voice is with you. If you need some time out, take it. It doesn’t mean you lost anything, it means you are gaining more power, while relaxing. Is you “experience” described in your blog? I just had a quick look and saw an awesome picture of your hairstyle, amazing!

          You are so right about the community, I totally know what you are talking about 🙂

          • lahgitana says:

            Aw, Alexandra, I’m so glad I said something about my writing voice. It has been bothering me a bit that I haven’t felt like writing. No, all the “experience” happened right after the last post. During that time also, one of our bloggers had a kitty die very suddenly and that really upset me for a couple of days.

            You’re right–I’ll just spend time recharging and know I’ll write when it’s time. Thanks for the encouragement. It’s still a long road in this recovery….

            Thanks for kind words about the purple and blue hair! It is REALLY fun getting older and not caring a wit if someone doesn’t like what I’m doing (or saying!)! >:-D

            Good on you for helping with the feral cats and with the human education, Alexandra!

  5. Super to see Usyaka back and so beautifully gracing her new product line.

    What a great way of raising funds to help all those cats. It’s such a difficult time throughout Europe and you’re unlucky to have no state or charitable support.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you 🙂
      To me the hardest challenge is not the lack of state help, but the lack of basic understanding and knowledge about animals among some local people. They are not always kind to animals. Some of them are. Some are not.

      • You’re right – the countries where it’s hardest to help animals are where the culture doesn’t include them in the family. Catching kids in school is often the best approach.

        • Alexandra says:

          That’s a perfect phrasing of what’s happening here – “the culture doesn’t include them in the family”. Exactly.
          I didn’t plan to do it, but educating kids (and not only) about animals is what I’ve also been doing. People here are open and curious. If they see you on a street doing something they find interesting – they come up and ask. Once they saw me playing with cats they started trying it too. It’s cute and strange to watch. They all (kids and adults) squeak with excitement when cats start playing with them. For many of them it was a revelation that a cat can wait for a human and get attached to a human.

          I’m sure I’m not changing anything globally, but I’m also sure there are some individuals for whom the whole perception of animals has changed.

  6. Dianda says:

    You and Usyaka are doing such a good job! Great way of raising funds!
    I’m looking around the store right now. 🙂
    Oh, and let me reblog this!

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi, Dianda! So happy to see you 🙂 and I’m happy you liked the idea. Yeah, I thought I’d try it, just in case, who knows, maybe it will work out 🙂 As I said, I’ll be helping those cats anyway.

      • Dianda says:

        I was thinking about you yesterday! So it was funny you posted today. 🙂
        How’re you doing?

        I hope it’ll work out!
        I already ordered two badges. 🙂

        • Alexandra says:

          Hahaha)) really? So maybe it was some collective thinking which made it 🙂 Sledpress said she was also thinking about Usyaka last night :))

          We are fine. Lots of playing with cats for me, now not only with Usyaka. Kittens outside got used to me very quickly and I taught them how to play with humans, and also taught people around how to play with cats. It’s been exciting for everybody. Neither of them knew they can play together 🙂

          Thank you for your order! I already received a report from the store saying those badges were bought. 😀

          How have you been? I’ll be reading your blog soon 🙂

          • Dianda says:

            Well, you were gone for a while, and the longer it took, the more I realized and got curious when you would be back! I thought about mailing you, but then I thought to just let you enjoy your time and the summer!

            Aawe, there are a lot of kittens and ferals there? I think its really good youre trying to teach both humand AND cats how to play with eachother. 🙂

            I actually wanted the mug, but the shipping costs were a bit more expensive, and the badges were just too cute! 🙂 Its funny, because I’ve been looking for pretty cat badges, but never found ones i like!

            Ive been doing ok. Ups and downs, you know how life can be. Currently I’m thinking about starting a new study in february, and thinking about joining a dutch cat website who need bloggers. But I’m already writing articles for another site, and I’m afraid I won’t have enough time to do both. And I’m thinking of finding a new job! Other Then that, I’ve been doing some vacationwork next to my regular job. 🙂
            Suki and Hiro are both doing good too! Even though the weather is really hot and uncomfortable!

            • Alexandra says:

              You sound very busy and productive! 😀 How do you manage it with all this heat?

              That blogging for a dutch cat website sounds interesting, doesn’t it? You’ve got lots of experience already in blogging about cats! You’d be good at that job!

              What study are you thinking about? ( maybe we could discuss it in our emails 🙂 )

              Shame about shipping costs :(. Cafepress is not perfect for me either, but it’s the most comfortable I could find so far.

              I guess Suki and Hiro are sleeping a lot these days? That’s what Usyaka does when it’s too hot.

              I haven’t been blogging for a long time, you are right. As I said, it’s basically imposible to do any active work here in the afternoons. A special quality of light that we need for our photo sessions also wasn’t here, but now it’s coming back, so I’m able to take more photos.

              About feral cats – yeah, there are usually quite many of them here, but in July a whole new crowd of kittens appeared. I started helping one, who was badly wounded, and then saw more and more of them. So that’s how it started. Now I just know I won’t leave them 🙂

  7. Pingback: Do you still remember her? | Cats & Co

  8. sledpress says:

    Yayy! I was missing her just last night and wondering when I’d see her again!

    The store looks great and a little gift shopping is in my future.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you! I’ve been planning to return for some time already. Maybe, your thoughts gave me the final push 🙂

      Let me know if you want to see anything else in the shop. I’ll be updating it soon too.

  9. FeyGirl says:

    What an amazingly wonderful thing you’re doing… And what BEAUTIFUL images of your kitty! It’s so sad to hear that there are no programs to help you in your cause to help these strays / ferals. We have many here, as well, and it’s the kindness of people like you helps them survive. I’ve managed a little crew in our neighborhood, and I empathize with the expenses. I can’t imagine a country…

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you, FeyGirl, for your understanding and kind words. I love doing what I’m doing, this is my pleasure. Luckily, things are not too expensive here, although when you have many cats even cheap things can sum to something expensive 🙂

      You said you are also helping cats over there. I had a look at your blog ( very interesting, BTW, will be returning there) but didn’t find the info about what place you were actually referring to 🙂

      It’s a small country here, it used to be a part of a bigger country, so it’s now only developing in many spheres. They already have a couple of shelters for dogs, but none for cats so far. Another problem is that not all local people understand the problem of feral/stray animals and not all people are educated about animals at all. Some of them don’t know even basic things and that’s why they are scared of animals which sometimes leads to bad outcomes.

      • FeyGirl says:

        Thank goodness for people like you who *shine* the way! Fear and misunderstanding are the worst enemies of animals — which are pure innocence. Here, we have issues of overpopulation of strays / ferals. All it takes are a few un-fixed kitties… I’ve TNR’d (trapped-neutred-released) many in our area (as well as feed them), some on my own, and some with the help of people who began helping others, because the county / state fell SADLY SHORT in helping the situation. Their solution? Kill.

        Fortunately if you can neuter, the kitties are a great help to any area and their populations are easily controlled. And such sweethearts; I love them all. I wish you ALL the best — and I know a few who began their own businesses doing nothing but this, so please let me know if I can relay any info to help! (From them, of course.)

        • Alexandra says:

          Oh, thank you, FeyGirl! I always smile when I think about people like you. I know that TNR is a good practice. I’m only in the beginning of something very large, but if I ever have a chance and right conditions, I’d be happy to do TNR too.

          The solution you mentioned happens here too and comes not from the state but from some people. It’s barbaric and very sad, it’s hard to discuss, all I can do is hope that another way of thinking will come to the heads of those people one day.

          I’ll be looking into the whole matter. I don’t create any huge plans and ambitions now, I just solve problems one by one, when I can and if I can.

          • FeyGirl says:

            Ditto… I do what I can, in my small little world. I try to help non-profits when I can (although I know that’s not the case with you), but I wish I could do more — but then I realize… Even just *showing* people what NOT to do is enough (no preaching)! And showing what little things you can do to help these innocents is tremendous. It doesn’t take much! Much luck and love your way…!!! ♥

  10. IsobelandCat says:

    Nice idea. Good luck with this.

    • Alexandra says:

      Thank you, Isobel, I’ll try to do my best.

      I often thought about you. I got really attached to one feral kitten who has no name, so I call him Cat.

      I often remembered you and your Cat.

  11. Wonderful project. So good to see you back. I love the coasters!

  12. animalartist says:

    Good to see you back! Wonderful of you to take care of homeless cats–and it must feel hopeless in a place where there is no structured animal welfare system. Good luck with the store!

    • Alexandra says:

      I’m happy to see you too 🙂

      I’m trying not to have hopes. I mean, I just do what I can, and I know things simply can’t be perfect in a situation like this, so I’m happy when they are just ok.

      Thank you for your kind wishes!

  13. Hi Alexandra, its so good to see Usyaka, I’ve missed her ! I’m greatly touched and inspired to hear of your work with the feral cats & kittens. I’m trying to think of a way to raise funds for you from the painting I did of Usyaka “sharpening her nose” – I have some ideas which I’ll email you about. I am also wondering if it is possible to donate funds to help, without buying the products ? so there is more money to help the cats. ?
    I applaud what you are doing, we have a charity-run Cats Shelter in our city, established over a 100 years – it is always full, and at the moment there are 700 cats waiting to go into the shelter, for help and to find new homes. Very Best of Luck 🙂 Victoria

Leave a Reply

