The Golden Girl.

Hello? Is there anybody in here?
Oriental cat Usyaka in sunset light

I know you still visit this blog, although it’s been a while since it’s updated. Thank you!
oriental cat Usyaka looking up in sunset light

Things kept happening and changing, until it became impossible to fit them all into one post. So, I decided to simply start with one, with the most important one.
one eyed cat Pirate first blog photo

Want a closer look?
one eyed cat Pirate second online photo for the first  blog post about him
This is Pirate, the one-eyed cat. Some of his story is here. Pirate is no longer a street cat. Pirate is our cat now.

And for those of you who wonder how these two are getting along, well…
two cats playing

they are working on it 🙂

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The Golden Girl.

  1. What a handsome chap Pirate is but he’d better fast realise that he needs to show the respect that is only right to Usyaka 😀

    • Alexandra says:

      😀 I’m not sure about respect, but he does give her a lot of space and usually just adores her. For example, when he wakes up he goes to search for her, finds her, licks her ears and head and only then goes back to sleep. She is the one who is being mean. 🙂

  2. Hellooooooo stranger! I have missed you 🙂 I suppose I can’t complain, look at what you have been doing! Ms U will get used to her new friend if he is persistent enough.

    • Alexandra says:

      haha! Hello to you too! I missed you too! Oh, I’m so happy to be back! There was time I was thinking, like, all right, when this crazy stuff is over I’ll post, and then, ok, I’ll just deal with this one and post. And the time was going by, and I was drifting further and further away from what used to be a habit 🙂 I already looked through your blog, saw your plants and the wonderful hammock. Envy you about that one 🙂 Is it cool?

      Ms U is getting better. She no longer fights when he wants to cuddle her, gave up already, I guess. He’s very stubborn and very kind. I think he’ll persuade her one day that he’s the best guy ever 🙂

      • That worked with Spot and Lokii – Lokii just would not take no for an answer. Looks like they have a great start already! I hope she’s not jealous that she’s no longer an “only child.”

        Hammock is great! I have slept outside in it twice. A bit damp but fun and really comfortable!

        Glad to have you back, life has been interesting for all of us it seems – so very pleased you made it through it all!

        • Alexandra says:

          How long did it take for Spot and Lokii? Pirate has been with us since January 😀 . But Usyaka was much worse towards him then. Besides they didn’t meet straight away and lived in separate rooms, because Pirate couldn’t be fixed then, as he had health problems … well, as I said, lots of things happened.
          So I do hope, they will be even better later. They are not that bad now, but Usyaka keeps her distance. I don’t think she’s jealous. She didn’t become sad or aggressive. She does copy lots of his behavior, but it looks as if she just discovers new ways to have fun.

          Sleeping outside must have been lovely, but I guess it was during the day, right? 🙂

          • Hmm, not too long, but Lokii was just a kitten and as annoying as he was, he wasn’t ever threatening. They still don’t really play with each other, but are ALWAYS sleeping side by side.

            No! I slept most of the night once, and all night the second time. It’s been warm here (gasp)!

  3. lahgitana says:

    Oh look at him with Usyaka! He was ready for a family, even if Usyaka isn’t quite ready for him.

    I can’t tell you how nice it is *for me* to see you back here, Alexandra. Life does have a nasty way sometimes of getting complicated. You’ve been in my thoughts during your absence. –L.

  4. Welcome Back Usyaka & Alexandra ! and a big welcome to Pirate, I’m so thrilled to see he is no longer a street cat , and that he is settling in ! Usyaka is as beautiful as ever. Its great to see you back 🙂 xx

  5. Anna says:

    Both gorgeous in their own ways! When I was a child, our family had a one-eyed cat named KC. He loved to be held and petted, but especially adored being kissed on the spot where his eye used to be. Kind of weird, but we went with it 🙂

  6. I am glad you are back. I love your photographs.

  7. He is beautiful!

    I was just checking your blog yesterday to see if I had inadvertently unsubscribed. I am so happy to see you!

  8. sledpress says:

    I have been missing you. And what a beautiful surprise to see the Pirate boy in your home! His blind side can see truth and all the future you know — like the god Wotan.

    • Alexandra says:

      Hi! 🙂 Thank you! As always, you educate with every comment. I didn’t know about the god or the magic abilities of Pirate’s blind side, but now when you told me it explains a lot. He was always so positive and happy on the streets, even when things were not so simple. I guess he knew already then, that I would take him home eventually. I think he knew it from the very beginning 🙂

      • sledpress says:

        I grew up listening to Wagner, some say a corrupting influence, but his version of Wotan (wise and far seeing though he had to trade one eye for some of his wisdom) always stuck with me.

        I love Pirate’s confidence, he owns that cat platform.

  9. colltales says:

    Fantastic. Welcome back to the two of you and the newcomer.

  10. Dianda says:

    YOU’RE BACK! Yay! 😀
    How long has Pirate been officially your cat?

  11. David says:

    Glad to see the both of you again. A big hello to Mr. Pirate.

  12. Lovely light in the first photo 🙂

Leave a Reply

